Announcement of the result of the board elections 2021

Chief Executive, Richard Kauntze said: “One of the many consequences of the coronavirus pandemic was that last year there were no elections to the Board of Management. Those members of the Board whose terms would have expired in July 2020 very kindly agreed to remain on the Board for a further year and we have, therefore, something of a bumper crop of categories where vacancies arose this year.”  Those categories were:

· Architecture/Design/Town Planning

· Construction Consultants

· Contractors

· Legal

· Occupier

· Owners/Investors/Developers

· Research

In four of those categories (Construction Consultants, Legal, Occupier and Research) the number of candidates did not exceed the number of vacancies and, therefore the following members are elected to the Board unopposed:

Construction Consultants

Mike Burton (AECOM)


Helen Garthwaite (Wedlake Bell) – re-elected

Michelle Marwood (Norton Rose Fulbright) – re-elected


Nathalie Baxter (Home Group)

Chris Early (Telefónica UK)

Andy McBain (NatWest Group)


Dr Asif Din (Perkins&Will)

“All of these candidates are therefore elected to the Board of Management for a three-year term at today’s AGM, and the BCO’s sincere congratulations to one and all.

In the remaining three categories (Architecture/Design/Town Planning, Contractors and Owners/Investors/Developers) the number of candidates exceeded the number of vacancies and, therefore, a ballot was held. It is, of course, an inevitable consequence of any ballot that not everyone can be a winner, and the BCO is extremely grateful to everyone who very kindly put themselves forward and offers its commiserations to those who were not successful this time.”

The winners in those three categories were:

Architecture/Design/Town Planning

Jason Balls (EPR Architects) – re-elected

Racheal Cadey (Edge) – re-elected


Clare Ashmore (Parkeray) – re-elected

Alex Soltynski (21 Construction)


Jon Allgood (The Crown Estate) – re-elected

Benjamin Lesser (Derwent London) – re-elected

James Pellatt (Great Portland Estates) – re-elected

The BCO offers its sincere congratulations to all of the winners in those categories elected through a ballot and, to all of the candidates – winners and losers – for very kindly putting themselves forward.